Greek Orthodox Church

Constructed under the auspices of the Jerusalem Patriarch Gerasmos in 1895 AD and established by the financial support and volunteer workers from the Beit Sahour congregation. In early 1940 AD, an earthquake hit the region and led to the destruction of the Church which was then rebuilt in 1952 AD at the time of the Patriarch Timothy I. The Church follows the Jerusalem Orthodox Patriarchal Chair, while the congregation manages its local Church affairs through a deputy committee (Parish council), consisting of ten members chosen every four years through an agreed structure among the families of the congregation. Those who serve in the Church are as follows: Priests (from the congregation), Choir, Teenagers and Youth Groups, the Parish Council, Women’s Committee, and the Sunday school, in addition to some volunteers and the staff of the church.

Related Virtual Tours